Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


Eastman Fund

The Thomas Eastman Book Awards and Academic Scholarships


DeMatha faculty members created this award in 1996 to memorialize Thomas Eastman, a DeMatha Counselor and a great friend of the DeMatha community. The Scholarship provides all textbooks for the next school year for eight students. In 2001, the fund was converted into an endowment in an effort to expand the number of awards given and to insure funding for future scholarships.

Today, both the endowment fund and the number of awards has grown. In 2024 we changed the award to a $1,000 tuition scholarship.

Q: Who was Thomas Eastman?
A: Mr. Eastman was a counselor at DeMatha from 1988 to 1994, when he lost his battle with cancer. He embodied all of the characteristics that DeMatha strives to instill in young men: devotion, kindness, concern, humility and loyalty.

Q: What is the Thomas Eastman Endowment?
A: This endowment is a fund from which the interest earned pays for the scholarships awarded each year. The endowment continues to grow while financing these important grants.

Q: How can you contribute?
A: You can contribute to the fund directly. For more information contact Mrs. Stockton. 100% of the money raised goes into the endowment fund.

Q: How is a student nominated for an Eastman Scholarship?
Freshmen, Sophomores and Juniors who embody Mr. Thomas Eastman’s gentle-manly traits of scholarship, character and commitment to our school are eligible to be nominated for the Scholarship by the school's teachers and staff. Students must have at least a 2.0 GPA.

The Award Procedure

Faculty and staff may nominate deserving students during the third quarter of the year. Students are then notified that they have been nominated and are asked to write about themselves. A panel of faculty and staff choose eight book award winners. Students are eligible to receive the book award once during their four years at DeMatha. Winners are announced at Academic Awards Night. Other nominees will receive a letter the day after the Awards Ceremony.